Daily Prompt: My Little Characters

breast cancer thirties 30s 30's kids twins dog weiner dachshund sunflower young mother

I happened to notice The Daily Post‘s Daily Prompt for today — It Builds Character — and couldn’t resist the opportunity to share some photos of my little characters.

The prompt asks that we show readers a CHARACTER.

Every month, my boys, twins who are in the same class, must do a family project for school.  October’s project asked them to choose a character from one of their favorite books and turn a pumpkin into that character.  M chose Greg Heffley, from Diary of a Wimpy Kid: Dog Days.  William chose Darth Paper, from Darth Paper Strikes Back, an Origami Yoda book.

So when I saw today’s prompt, M and I hatched a plan.  We took the pumpkin heads and, well, I’ll just show you:

M wearing the pumpkin head we made -- Diary of a Wimpy Kid's Greg Heffley

M wearing the pumpkin head we made — Diary of a Wimpy Kid’s Greg Heffley

M as Darth Paper from Darth Paper Strikes Back

M as Darth Paper from Darth Paper Strikes Back

During dinner, M also developed a character he decided to name Detective Bacon Mustache Hamburger Head.  Unfortunately, Detective Bacon Mustache Hamburger Head had a not-so-secret admirer in Ginger (our weiner dog) and had to change his name to Detective Hamburger Head when Ginger got a bit too close to his mustache.

Detective Bacon Mustache and his secret admirer, Ginger

Detective Bacon Mustache Hamburger Head and his admirer

And both boys decided to pose for one last photo:

IMG_9791

And this is a terrible segway, but I just wanted to thank you for your kind words when I was struggling last week (Why I Can’t Wait for my Colonoscopy).  And I also wanted to tell you that of all the things they found in my colon (like plenty of scar tissue and adhesions), cancer was thankfully not one of them.   It’s nice to have some good news!

Thank you for helping me get through an especially rough week!

 

 

 

 

18 thoughts on “Daily Prompt: My Little Characters

  1. Love these pictures! I have twins too (girls, 3 years old) and I’ve never laughed so hard as at the stuff they do! Sometimes I feel bad for my son (7) because he doesn’t have a twin-it’s this crazy special bond that is amazing to watch-even when they are fighting😜 amazingly wonderful news about your colonoscopy-❤

  2. Pingback: Daily Prompts: It builds Character | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  3. I am so glad the results were good! (Was thinking about you constantly the last week). Your kids are so cute, and the joy literally bursts out of the computer screen – thank you for sharing these gorgeous pics.

  4. First of all thank goodness. What a relief! so happy this test is behind you and the results are good.
    now for your twins. handsome characters and how beautifully creative.

Leave a Reply

